Feed Your Passion

Soccer is my passion. It’s what I love to do. It’s my escape. It’s what allows me to free myself from the rest of the world and helps me clear my mind. 

IMG_0983

I can’t remember a time in my life when soccer wasn’t important and always around me. Growing up with two older brothers who played soccer definitely influenced me to play, but it’s something I picked up on my own. My mom had always wanted me to be a dancer of some sort, and after signing me up for a flamenco dance class, I realized it just wasn’t for me. I mean, I showed up for three classes, but after the third, I had had enough, so in typical Sienna fashion, I thought it would be a good idea to show up with my soccer ball and just maybe the dance teacher would allow me to play with my soccer ball instead of having me do what every other kid was doing. That didn’t work out too well for me. Moral of the story, soccer was what I loved to do.It was a way for me to connect with my brothers and for me to finally feel included in the things they did.

IMG_0980

I currently play soccer for my high school soccer team and it’s super cool to be surrounded by a group of girls who share the same love for the game. When I started playing my freshman year, I will be the first to admit, I was not very good. I have always been very determined and driven, so the fact that I knew I wasn’t the greatest, only made me work harder. At first, I was really hard on myself and I thought about giving up all the time. I realized in time that nothing is meant to come easy and you have to work for what you want. I did exactly that. I would spend endless hours working on technique and condition with my eldest brother. As a sophomore, I have improved drastically. If you ask me, Im pretty proud of myself. 

IMG_0984

It’s important to remain optimistic and to feed your passion. Focus on your own dreams and work steadily towards your goals. To say the least, hard work definitely pays off!

This past year I had a good season full of injuries, laughs, cries, and everything else you can imagine. I gotta say my favorite part of it all is being able to play alongside two of my absolute best friends. We make each other better. But that’s maybe because we constantly are in competition with each other.

IMG_0981
TRIOOOOO

In closing, soccer is always there for me. It’s something that I want to continue in the future and something that I will always treasure. 

vsco-photo-1 (2)

xoxo, sienna

Leave a comment